Learn more about our historic campus in Painesville, Ohio
Since Lake Erie College opened as a women's college in 1856, the institution has called Painesville, Ohio home. Some of our buildings - like College Hall - have been around since the school's first classes were held in 1859. Other buildings have been added over the years while some have been lost due to natural disaster or campus expansion.
As a private university known for being a landmark for progress, Lake Erie College is committed to documenting its campus attractions and campus updates with the community.
Notable Landmarks and Campus History
One of Lake Erie College's most notable features is its rich history and connection to women's suffrage. Lake Erie College started as an all women's college and seminary with an all female staff and faculty until it became co-educational in the 1980s.
Lake Erie College was able to educate and connect various activists in this movement - including Mary Evans, who went on to be president. Susan B. Anthony came to speak on campus about equal voting rights for women. Lake Erie College is fortunate to have such a rich history as a private institution and as such, has installed several different dedication markers to some of our own activists.
The Lake Erie Campus Today
Various buildings around the Lake Erie College campus were built to serve individualized purposes, including the Morley Memorial Music Building and Kilcawley Hall. In addition to enriching our campus, these buildings are home to members of faculty, staff and students alike. Some notable buildings on Lake Erie College campus include:
We offer several different residential buildings for our students staying on-campus to choose from.
Lake Erie College offers several spots on campus for students to socialize, study and lead a fulfilling life on campus. Each building plays its own unique part in enriching the campus community.
Previous Buildings of Note
The campus has changed over the years, with new buildings replacing old and environmental damage causing updates. Some buildings important to our history no longer stand.
The cornerstone for Memorial Hall, which was connected to College hall by a corridor, was laid May 29, 1890, and the building was dedicated the following year. A fire broke out in Memorial Hall in the early morning hours of April 13, 1957, destroying the structure. Today, the stone sign for Memorial Hall remains on the ground outside College Hall, in the exact spot where it once hung over the main entrance to the building.
Bentley Hall of Science
Bentley Hall of Science, named for Dean Luette Bentley, was dedicated in 1897 and stood until 1972.
The Lincoln Commons, dedicated at the Centennial Convocation in 1959, stood at the heart of the campus until 1996, when the cost of major repairs necessitated the replacement of the building. It was replaced by the Arthur S. Holden center.
Jane White Lincoln Center for Physical Education
Named for long-time dean of students Jane White Lincoln, the original recreation center opened in 1978. This building was later razed to make room for the Jerome T. Osborne Family Athletic and Wellness Center.